Joe Bruno on the Mob – Karen Gravano on the Cover of Mob Candy Magazine

http://www.amazon.com/Mobsters-Gangs-Crooks-Creeps-ebook/dp/B0058J44QO/ref=zg_bs_11010_1

I must admit I vaguely heard of Mob Candy Magazine, but I wasn’t sure exactly what it was. (Were they selling chocolates in the shape of a gun?)

                So I went to its website, and low and behold, there’s a video posted that was aired on the VH1 Show “Mob Wives,” which features  an interview with Karen Gravano, daughter of mob rat Sammy “The Bull” Gravano. The reason for the interview, was — get this – Mob Candy, not only is publishing the interview with Karen, but they are also displaying a seductive photo of her on the cover of Mob Candy. I got a sneak preview of the cover, and there Karen was, dressed in a black and white dress; her hands on her hips, lips pursed in a slight  snarl, which seems to say, “Yeah, that’s right! What about it!”

                Not very sexy. Sort of  like a Mack truck glaring down at a tiny Volkswagen before it crushes the smaller car under its wheels.

                My first reaction to the cover was that Karen looks about 30 pounds lighter than she does on “Mob Wives.” Then I saw on the same page a previous cover with Renee Graziano as the cover girl. Renee looks much lighter than she does on “Mob Wives” too.  But unlike Karen, Renee looks downright foxy; white wraparound dress with right shoulder exposed; black belt and black sequined gloves, with the forefinger of her left hand placed gently between her pursed lips.

                Very sexy indeed.  

                No doubt, Hector “Junior” Pagan,” another rat like Sammy, wasn’t good-looking enough for this girl.

                Renee’s  just not my type of gal. But alluring nevertheless.

                However, both covers give praise to the wonders of Photoshop. Heck, with the proper  technique, Mob Candy could make Camryn Manheim  look 50 pounds lighter. Michael Moore too.

                Mob Candy had some big lug with a Brooklyn accent and a loopy smile, wearing a stupid cap, conducting  the interview with Karen; asking questions Mob Candy claims nobody else had the nerve to ask.  After Karen made her grand entrance and proclaimed, “Now I feel like a Mob Princess, “ the interview went something like this:

 

MC – “What do you say to our readers who say your father disgraced the Mafia by ratting on his best friend?

KG – “If they don’t understand the  Mafia, then they shouldn’t speak about  it.”

JB’s comment (That’s me) ‘’Karen, the problem is that people do understand the Mafia; do understand the rules and regulations; what you should do and what you must never do. That’s why some people are outraged that your father ever became a government informant.”

MC – “Would you have done the same thing as your father; given the same situation as your father? (Become a  government informant)

KG – (Hesitates) It’s hard for me to answer that because I wasn’t in his situation.”

JB’s comment  — “That sound like a definite maybe to me.”

MC – Has anyone messed with you since you’ve been back? (in New York)

KG – (Defiant) Messed with me? You could call my father Sammy the Bull, or Sammy the Rat. But he’s still family; he’s still my father. So if you mess with me, you’re going to have a problem. Point Blank! Period!”

JB’s comment  — (Almost speechless, but not quite) I guess that was a roundabout promo for future episodes of “Mob Wives.”

                Ladies go back to your corners and wait for the bell to ring. Then come out wailing.

                Nails and teeth are allowed; no guns or knives.

                Sorry, I won’t be around to see it.

                 I rather watch reruns of the Lawrence Welk Show.

http://www.josephbrunowriter.com/index.html

 

 

8 Responses to “Joe Bruno on the Mob – Karen Gravano on the Cover of Mob Candy Magazine”

  1. Bruce walls Says:

    Karen the cow.

  2. Seriously….no one wants to see Karen trying to be sexy. She looks like a man in heels!

  3. you didn’t hear about the big fight with “mob candy magazine” and then Renee turning around and opening up “Mob Candy” . I don’t know if you do know about it, if you don’t, I can fill you in. I will say, Renee was not suppost to be in the magazine at all, just Karen, but when your big sister is the producer of the show you go on..
    You can email or find me on my site if you want the deets.

    Great Site here.

Leave a Reply

